|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 14, 2017 9:58:15 GMT -8
Hi all, I went extremely overboard with making a self-contained script to close the themesection handle on winlogon.exe.. When you first run it as admin it makes lots of tweaks and reg imports to make classic theme work better and installs two scheduled tasks (one elevated, one with normal rights) Both tasks calls different subroutines in the script in order to launch programs as needed (applicationframehost.exe, taskmgr.exe) before the themesection handle is closed by handle.exe. I also set open folder windows in a seperate process, so that the desktop and taskbar are working. All other folder windows and programs are in classic theme. You will notice it launches taskmgr.exe before closing the handle, then I also set the debugging key back to the nt task manager.. So I have replaced the new task manager with the old one, but also have the new one open and minimised to the system tray.
From windows 10 1809 onwards there is no shellstyle.dll for the classic theme
Due to this, file explorer windows do not render. Do not use this script on 1809 if you need file explorer.
I recommend using Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 2016 (based on 1607) and adding the Microsoft store using powershell (don't update the store after doing this)
|
|
mauro
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
|
Post by mauro on Jul 16, 2017 3:28:07 GMT -8
please upload full script and whats sofware need install firt? only your script is enough?
|
|
|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 17, 2017 1:20:18 GMT -8
Hi there, Nothing else is needed at all - I have packed all required files into the batch script. In the screenshot the only changes aside from running the script are: 1. I disabled the command bar using shellstyle.dll 2. I used classic explorer to enable the classic status bar on explorer windows 3. I used classic start for the start button/start menu - the start button flag icon is taken from windows 7 shellbrd.dll Please try this in a vm first to see how it works. But saying that, you can always run the script again and select disable.. ufile.io/iob2h
|
|
mauro
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
|
Post by mauro on Jul 17, 2017 10:58:31 GMT -8
thanks work fine, insttall and restart 2 times and classic theme is work without other program screen and now with your solution config windows 10 work with classictheme is activate, very good
|
|
|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 17, 2017 12:10:30 GMT -8
Thank you very much for posting your results I am hoping someone finds a program which can allow/deny access to handles instead of clocing them Remaing issues with the script are: When you diable, our current theme is "Custom" When you disbale, calculator, task manager, deskn.cpl etc are not deleted from your system If you move the script file location, you need to run it again to update the scheduled tasks.
|
|
mauro
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
|
Post by mauro on Jul 17, 2017 12:30:22 GMT -8
its possible not change taskbar space to classic? maintein original original space is more good, classic is mutch big space, on opened programs
|
|
|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 17, 2017 12:37:42 GMT -8
Yes, any function can be disabled by putting REM or :: in front of the line
I think if you change line number 62
from: CALL :Reg_TaskbarIconsGrouping_Disable
to: :: CALL :Reg_TaskbarIconsGrouping_Disable
This will stop the script from disabling taskbar grouping (if you already ran the script, disable then enable again - no need to reboot in between)
You can also just set "Combine taskbar butons" to "Always hide labels" in Windows Settings
Lines 41-44 and 46-67 can be disabled in this way
|
|
mauro
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
|
Post by mauro on Jul 17, 2017 13:06:53 GMT -8
thanks i plan mout .iso of windows 10 and auto run your script to transform in classic its possible run automatic with out user press anyting?
|
|
|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 17, 2017 13:20:54 GMT -8
No problem.
The best thing to do would be to call it like this: classictheme_winlogonthemehandle_hybrid_explorer.bat enableclassictheme
you can also do: classictheme_winlogonthemehandle_hybrid_explorer.bat disableclassictheme
----
you can also edit it so you don't need to use a parameter, but it would break the disable function: Change the top few lines
##### from this ##### 7 IF [%1] EQU [loginnonelevated] CALL :loginnonelevated 8 IF [%1] EQU [loginelevated] CALL :loginelevated 9 IF [%1] EQU [disableclassictheme] GOTO :DisableClassicTheme 10 IF [%1] EQU [enableclassictheme] GOTO :EnableClassicTheme 11 12 IF [%1] EQU [] CHOICE /C ED /M "Enable or Disable Classic Theme? (E or D)" 13 IF [%errorlevel%] EQU [1] GOTO :EnableClassicTheme 14 IF [%errorlevel%] EQU [2] GOTO :DisableClassicTheme 15 EXIT /B
##### to this ##### 7 IF [%1] EQU [loginnonelevated] CALL :loginnonelevated 8 IF [%1] EQU [loginelevated] CALL :loginelevated 9 IF [%1] EQU [disableclassictheme] GOTO :DisableClassicTheme 10 IF [%1] EQU [enableclassictheme] GOTO :EnableClassicTheme 11 12 GOTO :EnableClassicTheme 13 EXIT /B
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Jul 18, 2017 2:03:38 GMT -8
Does this support languages other than English (I mean in task manager, calculator, etc)?
What about other tweaks we discussed on this site (Client Edge, 32px icons, ListView control in Explorer etc)?
|
|
|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 18, 2017 5:54:17 GMT -8
No it does not unfortunately, I only packed the MUI files for en-US into the batch script. I could add other languages on request if you let me know? (All added languages will install / unpack on your system as I have no way to tell your system language easily in batch) -- I don't add the other tweaks because I felt they modified the system too much, but I will look into it; What method do you recommend for client edge? AHK or dll? Also, for 32px icons - registry change + AHK, or pure AHK? For listview, Folder Options X utility looks like the best option to use (I don't mind resident program).
|
|
mauro
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
|
Post by mauro on Jul 18, 2017 6:18:14 GMT -8
only not work this, in your screen is ok this, on my not, do I need to mess with something?
|
|
|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 18, 2017 11:25:49 GMT -8
only not work this, in your screen is ok this, on my not, do I need to mess with something? Hmmm.. on your first screenshot this looks like it's wokring - did you comment out line number 46? Line 46 calls the subroutine which renames UIRibbon.dll to UIRibbon.dll.old to disable the ribbon. (by the way this also breaks mspaint, wordpad and other programs which use the ribbon) Can you look in System32 and see if you have UIRibbon.dll and/or UIRibbon.dll.old ?
|
|
mauro
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
|
Post by mauro on Jul 18, 2017 12:37:11 GMT -8
only found UIRibbon.dll, i rename for test and ok, thanks
|
|
|
Post by libertyernie on Jul 19, 2017 13:09:27 GMT -8
Thanks for posting your script! It seems to be working really well - it's nice that I can still launch Edge or other apps if I need to.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Jul 19, 2017 23:03:59 GMT -8
No it does not unfortunately, I only packed the MUI files for en-US into the batch script. I could add other languages on request if you let me know? (All added languages will install / unpack on your system as I have no way to tell your system language easily in batch) -- I don't add the other tweaks because I felt they modified the system too much, but I will look into it; What method do you recommend for client edge? AHK or dll? Also, for 32px icons - registry change + AHK, or pure AHK? For listview, Folder Options X utility looks like the best option to use (I don't mind resident program). Russian lang would be great. For Client Edge AHK is better. For 32px icons I use pure AHK method now.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Jul 20, 2017 1:54:34 GMT -8
By the way, what about also adding Paint and WordPad from Vista?
|
|
mauro
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
|
Post by mauro on Jul 22, 2017 5:53:10 GMT -8
6sicsix i tested your .bat in windows 8.1 and 2012 r2 and work to only bug is on Scheduling "classic_0" i disable this and no error msg on boot start screen
|
|
|
Post by 6sicsix on Jul 24, 2017 9:33:17 GMT -8
By the way, what about also adding Paint and WordPad from Vista? I have tried to add paint from vista but I receive the "Unable to create new document" issue if the exe is located in a folder protected by UAC. Also the debugging key doesn't work for mspaint because the command line which is called is: "C:\Program Files\Vista Paint\vistapaint.exe" C:\Windows\System32\mspaint.exe which causes paint to just error and close. I have integrated a modified paint designed for xp: www.askvg.com/get-windows-vista-look-like-mspaint-in-windows-xp/I have also made the script much easier to control with a configuration section at the top. I will upload soon.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Jul 26, 2017 4:19:44 GMT -8
Hmm. On Win 8.1 paint from Vista works just well.
|
|