|
Post by betamaster on Mar 1, 2023 8:20:55 GMT -8
Found this post on Reddit by user mathfigure, thought it might as well be here too: Apply the following patch to enable the Windows color settings in the title bar of the vmware workstation pro v16.x and v17.x:
move the file 'vmware.exe' from its installation folder to the desktop open the file 'vmware.exe' in a hex editor find the hex bytes: '83 00 00 00 75' and change the value '75' to 'EB' find the hex bytes: '86 00 00 00 75' and change the value '75' to 'EB' find the hex bytes: '85 00 00 00 75' and change the value '75' to 'EB' save the changes move the file 'vmware.exe' back to its installation folder With the patch: Without it:
|
|
AnyKey
Sophomore Member
Posts: 248
OS: Windows 10 Pro 22H2
Theme: XP Classic Theme
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
RAM: 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR4
GPU: Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super
|
Post by AnyKey on Mar 1, 2023 11:04:11 GMT -8
Nice find. By the way, this trick also works with VMware Workstation Player.
|
|
AnyKey
Sophomore Member
Posts: 248
OS: Windows 10 Pro 22H2
Theme: XP Classic Theme
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
RAM: 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR4
GPU: Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super
|
Post by AnyKey on Mar 23, 2023 10:24:01 GMT -8
Someone on ClassicServ found the another solution. Open executable with resource editor. Navigate to Manifest and open a resource 1:1033. Delete string <supportedOS Id="{8e0f7a12-bfb3-4fe8-b9a5-48fd50a15a9a}"/>. I suggest to make a backup of executable before you do this.
|
|
splashy
New Member
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 10 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2021
Theme: WMC 2.0 Dark
CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
RAM: 16 GB @ 3200 MHz
GPU: RX 5700 XT
|
Post by splashy on Jan 31, 2024 5:26:53 GMT -8
thanks. this tweak also made altsnap work on the window.
|
|
Fuki
Freshman Member
Posts: 35
OS: Windows 11
Theme: Vista Aero
CPU: Intel
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060
|
Post by Fuki on Mar 14, 2024 12:03:50 GMT -8
wtf i just was wondering about this yesterday thank you
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Mar 14, 2024 12:34:06 GMT -8
I wonder, what's the reason at all for the devs to make such simple custom titlebar? I think it you make a custom frame for your app, at least make it like painting's frame.
|
|
ginger
Freshman Member
Posts: 91
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Aero
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 mobile 5500U
RAM: 8 gb
GPU: AMD Radeon Graphics (I guess?)
Computer Make/Model: HP Laptop 15s-eq2xxx
|
Post by ginger on Mar 17, 2024 22:31:39 GMT -8
Why am I getting this error after changing values in HxD? It says this and I don't know why:
|
|
Legofan
Sophomore Member
Embrace modernity? Nah, embrace tradition.
Posts: 168
OS: Windows 11 24H2
Theme: Default
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / Intel Pentium Gold 4425Y
RAM: 64GB / 8 GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti / IGPU
Computer Make/Model: Custom Built / Surface Go 2
|
Post by Legofan on Apr 10, 2024 2:38:41 GMT -8
Why am I getting this error after changing values in HxD? It says this and I don't know why:
You corrupted the executable.
|
|
NanamiMadobe
Sophomore Member
Likes trying to be Tech Savvy and learn more about Tech, also huge OS-Tan Fan!
Posts: 241
OS: Windows 10 (22H2)
Theme: Default
CPU: Intel Core i7-8550U @ 1.80GHz
RAM: 8.00 GB (7.9 GB usable)
GPU: Intel UHD Graphics 620 (Integrated), NVIDIA MX150 (Dedicated)
|
Post by NanamiMadobe on Jul 10, 2024 18:17:29 GMT -8
Wait this stuff would be way too complicated for me without a video.
|
|
|
Post by enderboy on Jul 13, 2024 23:20:06 GMT -8
Wait this stuff would be way too complicated for me without a video. (Sighs) You go to here hexed.it and drag in your file, then at the side there should be a find feature, use the find feature to find the bytes specified in the original post, then save the file and drag it into you VMware folder in program files
|
|
AnyKey
Sophomore Member
Posts: 248
OS: Windows 10 Pro 22H2
Theme: XP Classic Theme
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
RAM: 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR4
GPU: Nvidia Geforce RTX 2070 Super
|
Post by AnyKey on Jul 14, 2024 2:43:45 GMT -8
I prefer resource modifying. I just edited my post and re-added the screenshot. Take a look at that.
|
|
DomibarkNT2000
New Member
Posts: 8
OS: Windows 11 Pro
Theme: Windows 7
|
Post by DomibarkNT2000 on Sept 27, 2024 9:16:48 GMT -8
Not sure if anyone else is using this patch for this reason, but it also fixes the caption buttons resizing after unminimizing the window. I don't understand how this professional piece of software doesn't look the part. Anyway, I hope either the devs fix this soon (unlikely) or that someone makes a Windhawk mod that also fixes this.
|
|
|
Post by valinet on Oct 19, 2024 13:39:41 GMT -8
The idea presented in the first post as a Windhawk mod:
// ==WindhawkMod== // @id valinet-vmware-frame-fix // @name VMware: Fix window frame // @description VMware: Fix window frame // @version 0.1 // @author valinet // @github https://github.com/valinet // @homepage https://valinet.ro // @include vmware.exe // @compilerOptions -lcomctl32 // ==/WindhawkMod==
// ==WindhawkModReadme== /*...*/ // ==/WindhawkModReadme==
#include <windhawk_utils.h>
HWND subclassed = nullptr; LRESULT CALLBACK WndProc(HWND hWnd, UINT uMsg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam, DWORD_PTR dwRefData) { if (uMsg == WM_NCCALCSIZE || uMsg == WM_NCPAINT || uMsg == WM_NCACTIVATE) { return DefWindowProcW(hWnd, uMsg, wParam, lParam); } return DefSubclassProc(hWnd, uMsg, wParam, lParam); }
using GetClientRect_t = decltype(&GetClientRect); GetClientRect_t GetClientRectFunc; BOOL WINAPI GetClientRectHook(HWND hWnd, LPRECT lpRect) { if (!subclassed && GetClassWord(hWnd, GCW_ATOM) == RegisterWindowMessageW(L"VMUIFrame") && WindhawkUtils::SetWindowSubclassFromAnyThread(hWnd, WndProc, 0)) { subclassed = hWnd; } return GetClientRectFunc(hWnd, lpRect); }
BOOL Wh_ModInit() { subclassed = FindWindowExW(nullptr, nullptr, L"VMUIFrame", nullptr); if (subclassed) { if (!WindhawkUtils::SetWindowSubclassFromAnyThread(subclassed, WndProc, 0)) subclassed = nullptr; } else { Wh_SetFunctionHook(reinterpret_cast<void*>(&GetClientRect), reinterpret_cast<void*>(&GetClientRectHook), reinterpret_cast<void**>(&GetClientRectFunc)); } return TRUE; }
void Wh_ModUninit() { if (GetClientRectFunc) Wh_RemoveFunctionHook(reinterpret_cast<void*>(&GetClientRect)); if (subclassed) WindhawkUtils::RemoveWindowSubclassFromAnyThread(subclassed, WndProc); }
Tested with latest VMware Workstation 17. Default behavior drives me nuts as well.
|
|