clara
Sophomore Member
Posts: 118
|
Post by clara on Feb 7, 2024 11:02:52 GMT -8
Appearance issue on Win10 22h2: white stripe glitch on the right from previous versions migrated to the bottom and thus is much more noticeable.
|
|
waldemar21214
Freshman Member
Posts: 94
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Classic
CPU: i5-12400f
RAM: 16 GB DDR4 3600mhz
GPU: PNY 3060TI
|
Post by waldemar21214 on Feb 7, 2024 11:14:54 GMT -8
Appearance issue on Win10 22h2: white stripe glitch on the right from previous versions migrated to the bottom and thus is much more noticeable. Most likely you also have the same problem with shellstyle.dll as I did. The FolderBand (not to be confused with the folder band, navigation pane or treeview that is the topic of my mod) padding should be set to -32px for the look to be accurate. Also, for the authentic 2000 look you need to disable clientedge for the treeview control. You propably have it set in the Cynosphere classic explorer mod.
Now that we're on the topic of accurate looks, I believe I have all I need to fix the issue with the resizer grip on the bottom of Rebar when toolbars are unlocked. I need to hook into CreateWindowEx, subclass the ReBar, and in WM_PAINT draw over the ugly grip and the bottom of the embossed frame, and draw the bottom of the frame a few px higher. This will produce a accurate look with the toolbars unlocked.
|
|
clara
Sophomore Member
Posts: 118
|
Post by clara on Feb 7, 2024 11:33:23 GMT -8
Most likely you also have the same problem with shellstyle.dll as I did. The FolderBand (not to be confused with the folder band, navigation pane or treeview that is the topic of my mod) padding should be set to -32px for the look to be accurate. Thank you, this is indeed the culprit. Visually it's not very correct, though, but i can live with it.
Rebar fix would be very sweet, this issue has been bugging me for so long, hence why i don't unlock toolbars.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 7, 2024 11:49:37 GMT -8
|
|
waldemar21214
Freshman Member
Posts: 94
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Classic
CPU: i5-12400f
RAM: 16 GB DDR4 3600mhz
GPU: PNY 3060TI
|
Post by waldemar21214 on Feb 7, 2024 15:21:21 GMT -8
Released a quick hotfix to correct a issue with spurious expando buttons being drawn
|
|
waldemar21214
Freshman Member
Posts: 94
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Classic
CPU: i5-12400f
RAM: 16 GB DDR4 3600mhz
GPU: PNY 3060TI
|
Post by waldemar21214 on Feb 8, 2024 7:57:20 GMT -8
Released 1.0 RC1. Explorer instability issue should be solved now. If no problems are reported for 1 week following this release, I will publish the mod to the repository
|
|
herit://that1cutie
Sophomore Member
sad girl times
Posts: 165
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Shitbox Edition
|
Post by herit://that1cutie on Feb 8, 2024 8:14:38 GMT -8
No issues on my end! Great work!
|
|
clara
Sophomore Member
Posts: 118
|
Post by clara on Feb 8, 2024 8:15:33 GMT -8
A note: this version of the mod requires changing tree item spacing in Classic Explorer settings to -2 to appear correctly.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 8, 2024 8:48:10 GMT -8
Th word "Folders" is not localized. The resources
id:9045 id:9338 id:49916
in shell32.dll contain the word "Folders" in the local language.
Explorer Patcher uses such strings to dislay localized strings and menu items, you can look up the EP code for this.
It would be also good if you added an item to "View" pull down menu with a checkbox to show the treeview, like in Windows 2000 ad XP.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 8, 2024 8:51:45 GMT -8
The horizontal scroll in treeview is 1px down compared to the file pane:
|
|
waldemar21214
Freshman Member
Posts: 94
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Classic
CPU: i5-12400f
RAM: 16 GB DDR4 3600mhz
GPU: PNY 3060TI
|
Post by waldemar21214 on Feb 8, 2024 9:02:01 GMT -8
Not using the localized resource is a design choice, it allows users more configuration possibilities. I can remove the default "Folders" text, and if the custom text is not set, then the mod will get the text from shell32.dll as you suggest.
I will look into adding a entry to the menu. There are explorer layouts that don't have the Folders button on the toolbar, I didn't think about that.
Your screen indicates that your FolderBand offset in shellstyle.dll isn't -32px. That 1px white line at the very bottom suggests that. At the very bottom of the client area, there should be a 1px shadow color line.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 8, 2024 9:24:07 GMT -8
Not using the localized resource is a design choice, it allows users more configuration possibilities. I can remove the default "Folders" text, and if the custom text is not set, then the mod will get the text from shell32.dll as you suggest.
This would be great!
Exactly. The text for the menu entry also can be taken from shell32.dll.
It is -32px, actually. I am on Win11 22000.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 8, 2024 13:33:40 GMT -8
Just noticed that the tooltip in your treeview (for instance, when folder name is too long) has white background color instead of the one from color scheme. Also, the scroll with mouse wheel is too slow (too small step compared to other tree views).
|
|
|
Post by OrthodoxWin32 on Feb 8, 2024 14:53:00 GMT -8
waldemar21214 Very nice mod, well done! I am particularly interested in the future NT4 mode.
|
|
waldemar21214
Freshman Member
Posts: 94
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Classic
CPU: i5-12400f
RAM: 16 GB DDR4 3600mhz
GPU: PNY 3060TI
|
Post by waldemar21214 on Feb 9, 2024 9:50:49 GMT -8
I tried adding a menu entry but I encountered many problems. I may have not picked the best approach, but it required me to hook 4 additional member functions of CShellBrowser and add a global container that stored additional data associated with every instance of CShellBrowser. Moreover, I discovered that micr soft doesn't actually use a proper string resource for the explorer toolbars submenu label, but a string chopped together from other parts, so as to 'nicely' support both singular and plural explorer toolbars. So, at best that submenu could be detected heuristically. Instead I decided to go with a INT setting, where 0 would mean not to add a menu entry, >0 meant to which existing submenu to add the entry, and <0 at what offset from the top to add a new submenu and add the entry to it. But even then it didn't fucking work properly. The button worked just fine, switching the treeview back and forth, but explorer crashed randomly after (some 30-90 seconds) it was used, the check symbol didn't update, the INT setting didn't work for some reason either. My attempt was a bust.
If you know of any open source software that successfully modifies file explorer toolbar menus, I can copy their solutions, but until then I won't try to reverse the flow of a river
As for your other suggestions, I added the automatic Folders band text localization, and the 1px offset scrollbar should be fixed now too. My mod doesn't change the scrolling speed of the treeview, at least not explicitly. I may look into making a option for boosting that up. As for the white tooltip background, do you mean the text background when the pointer is hovering over a item which can't fit it's name fully in the treeview control? Because if so, I can't reproduce the issue, the background is the proper color for me on both 10 22H2 and 11 23H2.
|
|
clara
Sophomore Member
Posts: 118
|
Post by clara on Feb 9, 2024 10:39:21 GMT -8
do you mean the text background when the pointer is hovering over a item which can't fit it's name fully in the treeview control? Because if so, I can't reproduce the issue, the background is the proper color for me on both 10 22H2 and 11 23H2. What anixx is saying, is that in Win2000 explorer hovering on treeview item that doesn't fit brings up classic yellow tooltip. Windows 10 22H2, however, brings up window background color with no borders and item name itself appears as a hyperlink.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 9, 2024 13:15:42 GMT -8
Yes. I have bright orange as a color of the tooltips background configured in the color scheme. But not fitting items have white background.
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 9, 2024 13:34:27 GMT -8
I have just tried the latest version and I see no change: the caption is still not localized and the layout is the same.
|
|
waldemar21214
Freshman Member
Posts: 94
OS: Windows 10
Theme: Classic
CPU: i5-12400f
RAM: 16 GB DDR4 3600mhz
GPU: PNY 3060TI
|
Post by waldemar21214 on Feb 9, 2024 14:22:28 GMT -8
Shit, I forgot to release RC2, try it now
|
|
|
Post by anixx on Feb 9, 2024 14:37:12 GMT -8
Shit, I forgot to release RC2, try it now Tried. Now in the bottom is a white gap and the left slider is above the slider in the file pane, also the caption is still not localized.
|
|